We’ve all probably had the moment of wanting to “take it all back”. Whether we posted something in the heat of a moment on a social network, made a spelling mistake on document or some other error posted online, luckily the digital age is very forgiving. Except when it pertains to E-Mail, which can be a business’s primary means of communication.
Luckily there is a way to take it back in Gmail. The Unsend button can be added, so after you have sent an e-mail, you can click Unsend to revert the item from a sent e-mail back to a draft. Although not a built in solution, it can be installed as a plugin in Google labs.
Instructions on how to add an Unsend button to GMail:
First click the “Gear” icon on the right side of the GMail interface.
A Dropdown will appear and click on Settings.
Next click on the Labs tab in the settings menu.
Next, search for “Undo Send”.
You’ll be able to choose from 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds.
So if you choose 30, after you click send you’ll see an Unsend message at the top of GMail that will stay there for 30 seconds.